Introducing Evo: The Original Purpose of Lispy

When I first envisioned the Lispy project I had only one goal in mind, which I’ll get to soon. As I started writing code, first in Scheme, then C then again in Scheme, the Lispy project evolved into something else. It changed into a platform for me to learn more about programming and the implementation of language features. Writing Lispy, in all its variations, has been a very educational and rewarding experience, so much so that I consider the project an overwhelming success, even though I didn’t realize the original purpose.

So what was the original purpose of Lispy? I’ll give you the tag line that I wrote when Lispy was nothing but an idea… Lispy is a distributed self-optimizing program by example language.

What does that mean? When I first became interested in programming I had 2 goals; to create a program like MetaStock (I’ve since written pyTrade) and to create Artificial Intelligence. Modest goals, I know. In my AI research I came across genetic programming and immediately took a liking to it, probably because I was still new to writing code and the idea that I could write code that wrote code fascinated me.

The main problem with genetic programming is that it is often difficult to write fitness tests for your problems. Somewhere along the way I noticed that programmers were writing fitness tests all the time in the form of unit tests for their code. In addition, the fact that 99% of the time the CPU sits idle while we browse reddit, kept rattling around in my head. Why not take advantage of those wasted cycles by using a programming language that used those cycles to optimize the code you just wrote?

Then I had another idea. Why write code at all? Why not just write the unit tests and let the code evolve on its own? It took me about an hour to realize that this wasn’t going to work on anything but the smallest applications. However another few weeks and I realized that, maybe it could work, given enough computers were running Lispy.

Anyway I have about 25 half-finished papers on Evo which I might get around to finishing and posting here. I’ll give the highlights and post a link to the github account where you can find more info. Evo is meant to be integrated with Lispy (though I don’t know when I’ll get around to that).

Evo is an evolutionary search based function optimizer. It provides an interface for defining new modules and functions as well as an evolutionary programming based method for optimizing those functions. Evo does not use the standard generational approach to GP, rather it uses “gene pools”, that contain functions of indefinite life, from which new functions can be evolved and tested one at a time.

When defining an Evo function you can choose to optimize it for speed, space or code length. Each function can have multiple gene pools that are each optimized for a different purpose. Using gene pools instead of a single population generational approach helps to avoid stagnation within the population as is a common occurrence with the standard generational model.

Evo is very much unfinished, however it can successfully run on its own and evolve solutions to problems. Because of this I am going to put the code out there in case anyone wishes to contribute. I used the implementation of Evo as an excuse to firm up my understanding of closures, as a result the majority of the program is written in a slightly OOP fashion. There is also a Tk based GUI for browsing modules and adding new functions and fitness tests, though its use is completely optional.

Without further ado, here’s the link to the Evo repo.

