…permitted by the specifications of the universe itself.

I was reading some articles on sciencedaily about an advancement that could simplify the implementation of quantum computers. This got me wondering about how I would go about programming a quantum computer (the answer, by the way, is to learn a lot more math). In my searching I came across QLisp, where I read this gem.

The new language (QLisp) is an extension of the AI language ‘Common Lisp’, and thus is a fully general computing language for digital (classical) computers. Extensions to Common Lisp to add data-types and operators are permitted by the Lisp specification. Extensions to the macro world that implement quantum physics appear to be permitted by the specifications of the universe itself.

Specifically the phrase “appear to be permitted by the specifications of the universe itself”. Now that’s what I call programming!

